I started a new unit this week and it solidified two things
that I’ve already remarked on before, the importance of context and the little
ways my wife helps me, which boosts my ZPD. As I’ve said before, Rosetta doesn’t give the English translation,
and so you have to figure out what is being said based on the image and the
context Rosetta tries to create. The phrases in this picture below were kind
of difficult to figure out and were really only clear after I asked my wife what
they meant. In a real life context, it may be easier since I would be able to
see the entire process play out, and know what came before and what came after, instead of just getting five separate images.
But moving on... What I learned about my special topic of learning
Russian is that it’s really hard and will take a ton of time and will require more than Rosetta Stone. I knew when I started that I wasn’t going to gain any
level of fluency, but making an effort to start to learn Russian has been
something I wanted to do, so this was a good opportunity to do it.
The other thing I learned was that context is really
important for this sort of thing. What I’m probably getting really good at is
practicing Russian in the Rosetta Stone context, but outside of it will be a
whole different matter. I’m at the point where I can match up the image with
the word or phrase fairly easy. But in a real life context the challenge will
be to speak certain words without any visual cues. But I also look forward to
being immersed in a Russian speaking context from time to time because the
words I pick up there are the ones that stick with me the most. Even though,
however, there are context limitations, I have still been able to transfer some
words to my long-term memory and recall them when I'm not doing Rosetta Stone. Getting more stuff into my long-term memory has always been one of my main goals, so I've achieved it a little.
Another thing I’ve learned about learning Russian is that
effort is really important. Sometimes I was good at practicing regularly, and
other times I wasn’t. If I want to get anywhere with this, then I will need to
put forth more effort. The amount of effort I put in is probably also closely
linked with my motivation. When I was in Russia a year and a half ago, I got
motivated, but then that went away. I want to learn it, but my motivation is still
weak.
My level of motivation has been one of the things I’ve
learned about myself as a learner. But how do I get my motivation up? I don’t
really know, but it will probably be out of necessity, or enrolling in a Russian class would probably be helpful as well. However, I will probably
keep trying to learn Russian on and off for a long time, partly because it’s
just who I am. Ever since I can remember my dad has tried to learn languages in
his spare time and I will probably be the same way.
Another thing I have learned about myself is that I have
mostly enjoyed writing these blogs and making connections between what I have
been doing and the learning theories we’ve been covering. I’m always trying to
analyze and make connections between the things I observe to things I have read
all the time anyway, and so this has been a good forum to do this in.
As for learning theories, I have learned that they are all
important. I don’t know that you could learn anything without using pieces from
all the theories. The most crucial one for me has been cognitive theory. It’s
been helpful to know things about short and long-term memory, recall,
dual-coding, prior knowledge, etc. But as I said before, context has also been
important, and that is something that sociocultural theory talks about more,
although it is in cognitive theory as well. The other important theory for me
to keep in mind has been Dweck’s incremental theory, which is the one that says
that intelligence is largely a product of the amount of effort you put in. I
can never use the excuse that I can’t learn it, only that I haven’t put in
enough effort.
![]() |
| "Dosvedanya!" (Goodbye!) |


Comments
Post a Comment